Fall Fun

When I first moved to Iowa over 11 years ago, I could not get past how cold it was. I graduated high school from Mesa, AZ and I spent my college years in NW Arkansas. I was not ready for the bitter cold temperatures. Even more unprepared for bitter cold temperatures in October. Something has happened to me over the past few years, though. Instead of spending the end of summer dreading the upcoming winter, I found myself increasingly anticipating the cooler weather. Cooler weather means less money spent on air conditioning. It means hot drinks and baked treats. It means curling up to a cozy fireplace with a good book. It means pulling out my wardrobe of cute sweaters and fun boots. It means Autumn leaves filling the landscape with bright reds, yellows, and oranges.

It also means Autumn leaves falling to the ground, covering my yard, and creating extra work for me to do. So my plan for the day was to rake the leaves and clean the house. Until I opened the door this morning to let the dogs out and realized it would only get to the low 40’s for the day. My original plans suddenly seemed very unappealing. So I sat and drank my coffee and found this great idea for a pumpkin painting. There is a step-by-step tutorial on the website and it seemed easy enough to follow.

I love those painting classes where everyone paints the same picture and you go step by step. I was so excited to be able to do the same thing in the comfort of my own home. And for a heck of a lot cheaper. So I made a quick trip to Michael’s to pick up some canvases. (I got a pack of 5 and used my 50% off coupon.)

IMG_4090

I invited my mom to make one with me and we gave it a go. (Mine’s on the left.)

IMG_4092

I was pretty pleased with the final product. I’m not the best painter in the world, but I don’t think you have to be for this project. It was fun and I love that it was something I could do with my mom.

IMG_4098

This was the perfect way to spend a chilly fall day. And it gets me in the right frame of mind for the even chiller weather that’s coming.

What’s your favorite part about Autumn?

Leave a Reply

